blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

The New York Sour December 12, 2014

Filed under: Drinks — blisteringlydrunk @ 5:56 pm

The New York SourYou will notice a trend here of my mostly posting cocktails lately (or at least meaning to, which is practically posting, right?). It’s a trend I’m embracing. And imbibing. So, I have some Forty Creek Whiskey that I’ve been wanting to drink, but at a bit of a loss on how. I mean, I know how, clearly, but looking for something new. So I googled whiskey drink recipes and landed on this via the bon appétit website. I’m enjoying it now as I post this. Of course.

Ingredients

2 oz rye or bourbon
1 oz fresh squeezed lemon juice
1 oz simple syrup
1/2 oz red wine (Shiraz or Malbec)

Combine rye, lemon juice and syrup in cocktail shaker with ice. Shake until cold – about 30 seconds. Pour into cocktail glass with fresh ice. Add wine by pouring over the back of a spoon to create layer. Cheers! Ren

(I just realized this is our 200th post. One more reason to enjoy this drink.)

 

Leave a Reply

