blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Huevos Rancheros – my new easy egg dinner August 20, 2012

I’ve been attempting to hit the gym this summer for the first time since I was about 16, which was when I established that gyms just weren’t for me. Then I had kids, and gyms have babysitting, which yoga and running don’t have, so gym it is, at least while school’s out. The upside of the gym (one of them; it turns out the gym is not as bad as I remember, probably due to a long winded explanation I could provide about a creepy and lecherous gym owner in Sylvan), is that I have had a chance to watch a little Food Network while on the treadmill. Now this particular day, I did not remember my headphones, so I was watching a recipe in progress without actually hearing anything, but this is what I got out of it. Also, not having sound and not knowing any of the celebrity chef’s du jour, I don’t know who to credit for this, but she was blonde and looked like she was from the South, but maybe that was just the Mexican food. Anyway, I think I always thought that huevos rancheros was a great thing to make for yourself, but too much work to get 4 (or more) servings on the table at the same time. This changed that, as it’s done in the oven and you can make as many as you want at once, limited only by how many muffin tins you own. Not to mention, it’s pretty enough to serve to guests, fast and easy enough for an on the run weeknight dinner, and delicious enough to make me a convert my first time ever eating huevos rancheros. Try it!

For 6 servings

6 small tortillas, edges trimmed (I used flour, but if you had access to some good corn tortillas, that would work well here)

3/4 cup black beans, cooked (I used canned)

2 Tbsp salsa, plus extra for topping

salt and pepper to taste

6 large eggs

1/2 cup shredded monterey jack cheese (I used a pepper jack which was good for me, but too spicy for the girls, cheddar would work here as well)

sour cream and fresh chopped tomatoes or salsa, for topping

1. Preheat your oven to 4oo and spray a six cup muffin tin, with cooking spray. Slice a line into each tortilla from the edge, about 3/4 of the way into the centre. This makes it easier to form them into nests in the muffin tin. Either brush the tortillas with oil, or spray with cooking spray on both sides, them place in tins, forming nests, or cups.

2. Stir 2 Tbsp of salsa into the black beans, along with plenty of salt and pepper. This is the only seasoning you are adding, so be generous. Place about 2 Tbsp of beans in the bottom of each tortilla cup.

3. Crack an egg into each cup and pop it in the oven. Cook for 8-10 minutes, or until the edges of the tortilla are nicely browned and the egg is just starting to set.

4. Take out, top each egg with a Tbsp or so of cheese, then cover the whole thing with tinfoil to prevent over browning the tortillas and pop it back in the oven for another 8 – 13 minutes, depending on how you want your eggs done. You should be able to press on the top of an egg to get a feel for how done the yolk is. We like ours medium, which took a total of about 20 – 22 minutes.

5. Remove from oven when egg is set to your liking and serve with sour cream and salsa or fresh chopped tomatoes (the kids preferred this option).

Enjoy!

Ky

PS I didn’t price this out, but beans and eggs are always cheap. I would estimate under $7 for the whole meal, and that’s using free range eggs.

 

Leave a Reply

