blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

The Perfect Not so Guilty Treat – Bean Cookies January 17, 2012

Filed under: Baking,Breakfast,Cookies,Make Ahead,Quick and easy,Thrifty — blisteringlydrunk @ 12:06 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

There will be a theme in my next few posts, of me trying to come up with good, healthy, energy providing snacks that my children will eat. Harder than it sounds, trust me, but this is a tried and true recipe from Meagan that has lots of good for you whole grains, beans, nuts, and fruit. So far, something my children would eat for dinner if I made them, but harder to get down as a quick, energy providing snack on the way to swimming, which is where the chocolate and, in my case, smarties, not to mention the cookie factor, come into play. Suddenly it’s something they love and I love feeding them and eating myself (especially as a post work out snack – why does running always make me want chocolate?). Feel free to play around with whatever kinds of nuts, seeds, dried fruit, and chocolate/candy you want; this is the sort of recipe that changes every time for me depending on what I have in the cupboard at the moment. Also, keep in mind that these are soft cookies that are at their best when fresh – I freeze mine in groups of 3 or 4 to take out on days we need a good to-go snack. Makes 24 big cookies or 36 smaller ones.

2 cups oatmeal $0.80

1/2 cup each, all purpose and spelt flours $0.05 and $0.20, respectively

1 tsp baking soda $0.05

1/2 tsp cinnamon (I do mine heaping because I LOVE cinnamon) $0.03

1/4 tsp salt $0.01 (and that was rounding way up)

1, 19 oz can white kidney beans, well rinsed and drained $1.00

1/4 cup butter, softened $0.38

1 cup packed dark brown sugar $0.89

1 egg $0.25

1 tsp vanilla $0.08

3/4 cup chocolate chips (or a combo of chocolate chips and smarties left over from halloween and haunting your cupboard) $1.18

1/2 cup dried fruit (I used dried cherries, but raisins, cranberries, chopped apricots, or dates would all work fine – feel free to use more than one kind) $1.08

1/2 cup each, chopped nuts and seeds (I used chopped almonds and pepitas) $0.84 and $0.47, respectively

2 Tbsp Flax meal (I’ve had this forever and couldn’t find/remember the price, so I’m guessing high) $0.35

1. Preheat oven to 350 and line your cookie sheets with silicone or parchment.  Place oatmeal in food processor or blender and pulse until finely ground. Add flours, baking soda, cinnamon and salt and pulse until well blended. Transfer to a large bowl.

2. Add beans, butter, brown sugar, egg and vanilla to food processor and blend until smooth, stopping to scrape down the sides a couple times.

3. Add wet ingredients to dry and stir until almost combined, then add the remaining ingredients. Stir until just combined.

4. Drop by large spoonfuls onto cookie sheets a few inches apart. bake 14-16 minutes, or until just starting to brown at the edges. Cool on wire rack.

Total cost $8.06

Cost per cookie (at 24 cookies) $0.34

And just to put that in perspective, the cost of a single cheese string style snack at Costco pricing is $0.21, provides only one food group (as opposed to 3), is very processed, and is way smaller.

Enjoy!

Ky

 

Leave a Reply

