blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Parmesan Orzo November 7, 2011

Filed under: Pasta,Quick and easy,Sides — blisteringlydrunk @ 9:20 am
Tags: ,

Parmesan orzoLooks like rice, tastes like heaven.  And my husband claims he doesn’t like pasta (I think it’s just peer pressure), and so I can fool him into thinking it isn’t…  I’ve made this as a side very often, and it’s a great “under” dish (see Greek prawns over orzo).  Here’s where this came from.

The basics

1 c orzo, uncooked
1 T butter
2 1/2 c liquid (I use half chicken stock, half water)
¼ c grated parmesan cheese
2 T fresh torn basil leaves, or a couple of shakes of freeze dried
pinch salt
fresh ground black pepper

Melt the butter over medium heat in a medium sized saucepan. Add the orzo, and stir around until coated with butter and slightly brown. Add the liquid, bring to a boil, and reduce the heat and allow to simmer for about 10 – 15 minutes, stirring frequently. When the liquid is mostly absorbed, turn the heat off and add the parmesan, basil, salt and pepper.  Serves 4 as a side dish, or two as a main (um, in my world.  Perhaps it serves 4 as a main if you aren’t as into cheesy pasta goodness as I am).  Cheers!  Ren

 

One Response to “Parmesan Orzo”

  1. […] convinced me that orzo is also my new best friend, and I’ll post that separately, ’cause I know you’re going to want to access it a […]


Leave a Reply

