blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

PanCAKES – heavy on the cake October 6, 2011

Filed under: Breakfast,Quick and easy,Vegetarian — blisteringlydrunk @ 9:14 am
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve never been a big pancake person, I think because most of my pancake experiences as a child were at pancake breakfasts with boxed batter and no flavour. However, in the last year or so, I have begun to appreciate the fine art of the pancake, especially since the girls love them and they make a great fast, easy and (often) healthy dinner served with fruit and yogurt to top. These are my go to hearty and healthy ones, these are a fall treat that are so moist and fluffy you won’t know what to do with them, and these are the perfect traditional pancake that you can turn into whatever you want. Who knew you could find such variety not only in the flavour, but also in the texture of a pancake? Which brings me to this recipe. I was looking for something easy, fast and carb heavy without the fiber, as everyone had had the stomach flu (including me) and I thought pancakes would be a good fit. Thankfully, I knew Meagan had loads of pancake recipes on her site and this is literally the first one I saw. I skipped the bananas (I’m not a fan) and used orange zest instead of lemon (just what was in the house) and my new favourite pancake was born. These actually remind me of an orange pound cake a little, only spongier instead of crummy (and by that I mean having crums, not crappy). They are dense and delicious and I love the orange zest; why have I never thought of doing that to a pancake before? Try these.

1 1/2 cups flour

3 Tbsp sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/2 cup yogurt (I used a fat free greek yogurt, which I think added to the density, but any old yogurt will do, I’m sure)

1 cup milk

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

zest of half an orange

1. Stir together dry ingredients (through salt) in a large bowl.

2. Whisk together remaining ingredients in another bowl, then add to dry.

3. Cook them in a hot skillet with either melted butter or cooking spray (I used the latter) by dropping onto skillet in large spoonfuls and flipping once they bubble, then transferring to a plate once browned on the other side. I usually throw them all in a pie plate and keep them in a 275 oven until all are ready, then serve.

Enjoy!

Ky

 

Leave a Reply

