blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Cookie Friday! Vegan Oatmeal Fruit and Seed Cookies September 30, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Cookies,Quick and easy,Vegetarian — blisteringlydrunk @ 1:03 pm
Tags: , , ,

OK, I don’t know if cookie Friday is actually a thing, but it should be. I’ve been actively resisting baking for a couple weeks now, since I’m the one who usually ends up eating most of it, but I broke down yesterday and gave this recipe a shot.  I’ve had this page open on my computer screen since she posted it on August 30, so I feel that, since I waited for a whole month, my willpower has been proven and it’s OK to eat the whole batch. These are great cookies, with too much oil in the recipe, so I am posting them the way I will make them next time. And I will make them again; the flavour and texture are bang on if you can ignore the oil seeping out the bottom and you like things soft and chewy with a crunch to the edge, plus they took no time to throw together, and I love the use of natural sugars (brown and maple syrup) instead of refined ones. Also, because there are no eggs or butter, I’m likely to be able to make some version of these, regardless of how recently I’ve been to the grocery store. If you are a chocolate fiend, you could happily throw in some chunks or smarties here to go for a trail mix style cookie as well. Happy baking!

1 cup oats

3/4 cup flour (I used all purpose, but spelt would work well here)

1/3 cup dark brown sugar (loosely packed)

1 tsp cream of tartar

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp sea salt

1 tsp cinnamon

a pinch of nutmeg

1/4 cup each, dried cherries (or cranberries), pepitas, and unsweetened coconut

1/3 cup maple syrup

1/3 cup canola oil

1 tsp vanilla

1. Preheat oven to 350 and line a cookie sheet with parchment or silicone.

2. Stir together dry ingredients (everything but the syrup, oil and vanilla) in a large bowl.

3. Add remaining ingredients, stirring to combine.

4. Roll into Tbsp sized balls for BIG cookies, or half that for a more normal sized cookie. Place 2 ” apart on cookie sheets and bake for 9-12 minutes, or until golden around the edges but still soft in the middle. Allow to cool for 5 minutes on the pan before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

Makes 12 giant cookies or 18 normal sized ones.

Enjoy!

Ky

 

 

2 Responses to “Cookie Friday! Vegan Oatmeal Fruit and Seed Cookies”

  1. kickpleat Says:

    Weird, I never had any issues with oil seeping out of the cookies. To me they were perfect, not greasy at all. Oh well! Glad you enjoyed them, regardless 🙂

    • Yours looked much prettier than mine did too, so it seems possible that it’s just my baking skills. Also, I just had a minor heart attack that you read my post; the three of us who post regularly here are huge fans of your blog and I have made a ton of your recipes, always with great results. Thanks for noticing us!


Leave a Reply

