blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Ham Rotini Bake (aka ‘Cause fat tastes good pasta dish) September 29, 2011

Filed under: Ham,Pasta,Quick and easy — blisteringlydrunk @ 11:34 am
Tags: , , ,

Ham rotini bakeWhen I was a kid, I could never understand why my grandma’s cooking always tasted so much better than mine.  I mean, I get the obvious things, like her chicken and molly, or her perogies, but her toast?  Come on.  It wasn’t until I reached adulthood that I discovered her secret: fat.  She’d slather toast with butter, and deep fry her potato pancakes, and bake her perogies in a heart-stopping amount of butter mixed with onions.  So while I still cut calorie corners for many things (such as not adding butter to cooked veggies, and substituting yogurt for sour cream), I like a good dollop of fat every once in a while.  And this has it, let me tell you.  This is my doubled recipe, which served 3 of us for two meals.

 

2 c uncooked rotini
2 1/3 c milk
4 T butter
1/4 c unbleached flour
2 t chicken base (I used Better than Bullion)
1 t each salt and pepper
4 pressed garlic cloves
1 c cooked, diced ham
1 c shredded parmesan
1 1/2 c plain, thick yogurt (I used Liberté Méditerranée)

Pre-heat oven to 400°C.  Cook rotini until slightly undercooked.

Meanwhile, heat a large skillet and melt butter, adding flour to make a smooth roux.  Gradually add milk, chicken base,  salt, pepper and garlic. Mix well and bring to a slow simmer, stirring until thick and bubbly.  Reduce heat and add ham, parmesan and yogurt.  Stir until cheese is melted.  Add the drained pasta, mix and bake in oven until heated through – about 15 min.  Cheers!  Ren

Ham rotini bake

 

2 Responses to “Ham Rotini Bake (aka ‘Cause fat tastes good pasta dish)”

  1. Ky Says:

    That’s looks yummy! I know it’s wrong, but I want to add broccoli to it. Also, great post; my mom my food taste good the same way, I remember going through a white bread and butter stage as a kid and it not being at all problematic.

  2. Rene Martin Says:

    I was thinking cauliflower – who would know? You could also put bread crumbs and parsley on top.


Leave a Reply

