blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

BBQ Chicken in the oven September 14, 2011

Filed under: Chicken,Quick and easy,Sandwiches — blisteringlydrunk @ 7:35 am
Tags: , ,

I have a growing list of things to post and have also been pulling out some fall favourites (cowgirl soup and pumpkin foccasia with the gruyere, so perfect on a cold fall day) but this is one I wanted to be sure to post right away because I can see myself eating this all winter. It’s a great chicken thigh recipe that I threw together at the last second since I had planned on having a BBQ, but I was too cold to brave going outside. I took a scan of the possibilities over at Everybody Likes Sandwiches (she seems to be a great lover of chicken thighs, which I already had thawing on my counter) and came across this. I had to make some adjustments based on what I had in my house, but this was lovely. It actually reminds me of some pork side ribs my mom used to make and I think next time I will have it with rice like she always served her ribs, and then the time after that, I am going to shred the chicken, pop it on a bun and top it with the sauce for a pulled chicken sandwich. As is was, it went very well with roasted corn on the cob and summer squash roasted with apples and cinnamon. Enjoy it how you will, but give it a shot.

PS If you like heat, this dish would lend itself well, I would just add some cayenne or chipotle pepper to the sauce.

6 chicken thighs, skin and fat removed (this takes two minutes and getting thighs with the bone in adds a lot of flavour)

1 small onion chopped

3 big roma tomatoes, diced (or a small can of diced tomatoes)

1/4 cup, packed dark brown sugar

1 Tbsp molasses

3 Tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 Tbsp worchestershire sauce

1/2 tsp each, salt, fresh ground pepper, and thyme

1/4 cup yellow mustard

1/4 cup salsa (ketchup would work, but not be as good)

1. Preheat oven to 375. Place chicken in a small glass dish, so they are squished together in there and top with onions.

2. Mix together remaining ingredients in a bowl and pour over top of chicken. Pop it in the oven and cook for 1 1/2 hours.

3. Remove chicken to plate and cover with tinfoil. Pour sauce into a pan and bring to boil to reduce by half.

4. Pour sauce over chicken and serve.

Enjoy!

Ky

 

One Response to “BBQ Chicken in the oven”

  1. Katie Says:

    Nice! I want to try this in the slow cooker.


Leave a Reply

