blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Feta dill asparagus crustless quiche July 27, 2011

Filed under: Mains,Quick and easy,Vegetarian — blisteringlydrunk @ 10:07 am
Tags: , , ,

quicheI love pie crust.  So much so, that even when making a savoury dish, I just use my spare pie crust in all its flakey, buttery goodness.  However, whenever I do this, the rest of my family scoops out the insides and leaves it behind (I am saddled with, gasp!, healthy eaters).  So in an effort to cater to them, I tried this crustless quiche that I got from the Backseat Gourmet.  I added more dill to it than called for and I used light feta, and could have maybe used more – I’ll leave that to you to decide.  It was so good, and everyone enjoyed it so much, I may just save the pie crust for, well, pies…

1 T butter
1/2 c bread crumbs
1/2 bunch of asparagus
8 eggs
1 c milk
salt and pepper to taste
2 T chopped fresh dill
1 c crumbled feta

Preheat oven to 400°F.  Clean then chop asparagus into 1 in. portions. Steam for about 2 min. and then remove immediately and set aside to cool.  Butter a deep pie dish and sprinkle bread crumbs in it, rolling around until sides are covered.  Whisk eggs and milk together, add some pepper and a small amount of salt, then add dill, crumbled feta and asparagus.  Mix together and pour into dish.  Bake for about 35 min., or until quiche is puffy and golden on top.  Remove and set aside for 5 min. before serving.  Cheers!  Ren

 

Leave a Reply

