blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Happy 100th post to us and a Rhubarb Vinagrette July 19, 2011

Filed under: Make Ahead,Quick and easy,Salads,Sauces — blisteringlydrunk @ 12:55 pm
Tags: ,

So, here is our 100th post, 2 weeks late and not overly exciting on the surface. Summer has officially taken over my life and not allowed a whole lot of time for posting, although there has still been a lot of cooking, mainly early in the morning, before it gets hot. Once the heat kicks in, all I want to do is BBQ some meat and throw a salad together, hence this post. I saw this recipe on Dinner with Julie the other day and when the temperature inside my house hit 29 degrees yesterday afternoon, I changed my dinner plans and threw this together. Tossed with fresh greens and some dill from my garden, this was easily the best salad I’ve had all summer (and I’m a salad junkie), so good in fact, that I repeated it for my lunch today. I’m currently debating in my head if I could actually can this so that I could enjoy it year round, but the jury is still out – I need to do a little research. For now, one batch should last in the fridge for a week or two, if it lasts that long.

1 large rhubarb stalk, or 3 little ones, thinly sliced

2 Tbsp each, honey and rice vinegar

1-2 tsp Dijon mustard

3 Tbsp olive oil

1. Place rhubarb and about 1/4 – 1/2 cup water in a small pan over medium heat and simmer about 5 minutes, or until water is mostly evaporated and rhubarb is really soft.

2. Put everything but the oil in a food processor or blender and pulse until smooth. Then turn on high and add the oil with the motor running – this will emulsify the oil and make for a thick creamy dressing.

3. Store in the fridge and serve once cool. Dill would also be great right in the dressing, but the color might be a little funky.

Enjoy!

Kyla

 

Leave a Reply

