blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Cinnamon Pull Apart Bread July 4, 2011

Filed under: Breads,Breakfast — blisteringlydrunk @ 8:27 am
Tags: , ,

I feel like all I have been doing lately is cooking and then dashing off to the next exciting summer vacation destination: the zoo, the waterpark, the regular park, the amusement park, bike ride tour of our neighbourhood (now on hold due to my bike being stolen out of our garage on the weekend), and this week the beach. It’s only two weeks in and I think I might need to slow down a little. That said, I have been cooking, I just haven’t been finding the time to post. For example, these burger buns are fantastic and fairly easy, if you are into fresh buns for burgers. And yesterday I made this amazing rhubarb custard pie, that I can guarantee will be made at least once every rhubarb season. And I used this marinade recipe for some grilled pork chops last night on Meagan’s recommendation, which turned out beautifully. The problem I am having currently, is a lack of time to post, so I am going to give you some recipes to the stuff I am making changes to and links to the stuff that I wouldn’t change at all.

This cinnamon pull apart bread is something I will definitely make again, as it was simpler than cinnamon buns, but with essentially the same result. However, the recipe needed some work; if you change nothing else, cook this way longer than it says, possibly double. But do make it; it’s totally worth it.

For the dough:

1/2 cup milk, warmed slightly (room temperature or so)

1/4 cup warm water

2 1/4 tsp active dry yeast

3 cups all purpose flour (next time I will use either all spelt or half ap, half whole wheat)

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 cup butter, softened

2 large eggs

For the filling:

3/4 cup sugar

2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 cup butter melted

Raisins, chopped pecans, etc could also be added here with good results; I’m thinking chopped pecans rolled in a little cinnamon sugar on the bottom of the loaf pan before you put the dough in

1. In a large bowl (that is not cold, and if it is, warm the milk and water a little extra), combine milk, water, yeast and a pinch of the sugar. Let stand 5-10 minutes, or until nice and foamy.

2. Stir in butter and eggs with a heavy whisk until butter is chopped up fairly fine, then add flour and the remaining sugar. Stir until a dough is formed. This is where a stand mixer with a dough hook would come in handy, as this is a sticky dough and you don’t want to add too much flour to it, however, you do have to knead it a bit. So flour up your hands and be prepared to get a little dirty. Knead just until the dough is well combined, maybe 2 minutes.

3.  At this point I covered mine and put it in the fridge overnight, then in the morning, I put it in the oven with a pan of steaming water for 30 minutes to bring it back to life. Otherwise, you can just let it rise for about an hour in a warmish place until doubled in size.

4. In a small bowl, stir together cinnamon, nutmeg and sugar, then butter a 9×5 loaf pan (and add in the chopped pecans if you want to try that).

5. Roll out your dough into a 12″x20″ rectangle on the nearest clean and floured surface. Spread with melted butter, then sprinkle evenly with sugar/spice combo; it will be a lot and I have already cut it a bit.

6. Slice the dough lengthwise into 6 strips. Stack the strips on top of each other, then cut them crosswise into 6  pieces again. Stand them up and put them in the loaf pan, so that you essentially have already sliced bread (I had to put some in the side to fit them all in though, just so long as they are standing up and in there fairly securely). Cover and let rise for another 30-60 minutes, until doubled.

7. Preheat oven to 350. Here’s where it gets a little tricky, the original recipe says to cook for 20-30 minutes; I cooked mine for 35 minutes and the middle was still pure dough, so I had to put it back in. I would recommend baking for 45 minutes to an hour. The tops will probably be dark brown and if you press in the middle, it should hold its shape.

8. Let cool for 10 minutes, then run a knife around the edge and flip it onto a serving plate. Let cool for another 5 – 10 minutes before eating.

Enjoy!

Ky

 

Leave a Reply

