blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Peach Pie in a Sour Cream Pastry June 21, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Desserts,Make Ahead,pastry — blisteringlydrunk @ 8:30 am
Tags: , , ,

I know I’ve been on a bit of a dessert kick lately, and I meant to stop, but I ate a peach the other day that for no apparent reason made me think “Pie!”, like I was a cartoon character with a light bulb above my head. The strange part about this is I have never actually had or made a peach pie before in my life, but there was my thought bubble and I couldn’t get rid of it. So, since my husband requested grilled cheese sandwiches and french fries for his father’s day dinner, I figured the least I could do was a pie. And I happen to know that Meagan is the queen of pies, so I borrowed her recipe for the filling and used my favourite sour cream pastry recipe that I stumbled across years ago, wrote down and have yet to discover it’s equal. That said, I have no idea where it came from, so I’m unsure where to give credit, but thank you whoever you are, because before this, I was more of a filling than a crust girl. Also, while moving my grandmother last weekend, she gave me some enameled tin pie plates, and told me the best pies are made in metal pans, because they crisp up better. Not surprisingly, she was right. This is easily the best pie I have ever made or consumed. That’s all I’m telling you, now you have to make it for yourself, and do it while the peaches are in season!

Pastry:

2 cups all purpose flour

1 tsp salt

3/4 cup shortening (I’m a Tenderflake fan)

6 Tbsp sour cream (I admit I used greek yogurt this time and it more than got the job done)

1. Combine flour and salt in a large bowl. Cut in shortening with a pastry cutter until the mixture resembles rolled oats.

2. Add in sour cream 1 Tbsp at a time, stirring a bit between each addition. Once all is added, turn out and knead a bit to get it to just come together, but don’t overwork it or the pastry will get tough.

3. Cover and place ball of pastry in the fridge until you are ready to roll it. Makes enough for one large double crust pie. (The trimmings made a nice little rough peach tart to deliver to the neighbours)

Filling:

5 cups peeled and sliced fresh peaches (this was 5 large ones for me, but I would have a few more handy just in case)

1 tsp lemon juice

2/3 cup sugar

1/4 cup flour

1/8 tsp cinnamon

2 Tbsp butter

1. To peel the peaches, x the bottoms with a paring knife, then drop them in a pot of boiling water for about 10 seconds. Remove them from the boiling water and drop them into a large bowl filled with ice water. The skins should come off of the ripe peaches quite easily at this point. I found the peaches that seemed slightly under ripe to be much harder to peel, so it’s best to get them at their peak.

2. Stir together peaches and lemon juice, then add sugar, flour, and cinnamon. Stir to combine.

3. Preheat your oven to 450. Cut your pastry ball in half and roll out one half so that it is big enough to fill the plate and hang over the edges a bit. Make sure not to stretch the pastry to fit in the corners or it will shrink back.

4. Place in pie plate and fill with peaches. Dob the 2 Tbsp of butter over the top (this helps to thicken the sauce) and then add the second crust. Trim the excess pastry off the edge and pinch the crusts together. You can use a fork to decorate the edges if you wish or start harassing Meagan for pie decorating lessons, because hers are way prettier than mine.

5. Cut a couple of heat vents in the top and cook in preheated oven for 10 minutes, then cover the edges of the crust with foil and turn the heat down to 350 and cook for another 35 minutes, or until golden. Let cool for 30 minutes or so before serving.

Enjoy!

Ky

P.S. I have often frozen both apple and saskatoon pies once filled and trimmed but before baking, so I see no reason why you couldn’t do the same here. That way you could have a fresh peach pie in the dead of winter. Just cover the pie with foil and then wrap in a couple of plastic bags and make sure you freeze it flat. I try to set it out about an hour before I want to cook it, so the pastry thaws a little, then cook the same (10 minutes at 45, then lower the heat) but a little longer on the end, maybe 10-15 minutes, depending on how it looks.

 

4 Responses to “Peach Pie in a Sour Cream Pastry”

  1. Wow that pie looks good! I’m more of a filling girl myself too, so I will have to try your version of the crust! 🙂

  2. Meagan Says:

    Beautiful Pie! and now I need to make one to try the pastry (I still haven’t gotten around to it!)

  3. Oh, I forgot to mention how truly delicious this was… Thanks for the treat! Ren

  4. […] These are two very different pies, but both are in my top three pies ever tasted (the third is peach pie). About the Plum Mascarpone pie, let me first say, this picture is terrible and does not do justice […]


Leave a Reply

