blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Balsamic Chicken June 21, 2011

Filed under: Chicken,Mains — blisteringlydrunk @ 9:06 pm
Tags: , , ,

I could fill my recipe book with delicious, easy, healthy recipes and I would still feel like I needed more. I just found the next one to jot down in the ol’ book (or blog). Paired with a salad, this is an easy peasy meal and I bet you have all the ingredients to make it in your kitchen at any given time. I served it with a tossed salad and this simple potato salad (which you should also try immediately, it’s divine), but I think next time I will opt for a fresh ciabatta to soak up the balsamic vinegar reduction.

I hope you like it!

Katie

adapted from ELS, this serves 3 adults (4 if you’re sissies)

6 boneless, skinless chicken thighs
2 t olive oil
1/2 large onion, sliced
salt & pepper
1 T (or more) dried rosemary
1 c balsamic vinegar
6 cloves garlic, bashed and chopped

1. Toss onion slices with olive oil in a dutch oven or casserole. Add chicken and a healthy dose of salt, pepper and rosemary. Pop it in the oven at 450F for 40-45 minutes (mine took 41), stirring a few times to stop the onions from burning to the bottom.

2. Bring the balsamic and garlic to a boil, simmering until it reduces to a syrup (or something close to that).

3. When chicken is cooked, give it a stir to loosen the onions and pour the balsamic reduction over top. Pop it under the broiler for 2 minutes and serve.

 

Leave a Reply

