blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Groaning Cake with Totally Evil Drunken Sauce June 16, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Cakes,Desserts — blisteringlydrunk @ 9:09 am
Tags: , ,

OK, I’m officially a slacker this week. I’ve been meaning to post this since last Tuesday and it just hasn’t happened. Sorry for my tardiness, I plan to be back on track now. This was our dessert at book club and was actually a recipe from the book, The Birth House, by Amy McKay (check out the link for an explanation on the history of a Groaning Cake). The book was amazing (there was a consensus amongst our crowd) and the cake was lovely, with a few adjustments in the opposite direction I usually take; I actually added in butter this time. I also added this Totally Evil Drunken Sauce, which I made exactly (only with spiced rum) so I’m not going to post it here, but trust me and make it, and eat it on ice cream, or just drink it or whatever; it WILL make your day better.

2 1/2 cups flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp each, ground cloves and allspice

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1 1/3 cups sugar

3 eggs

2/3 cup butter, melted and cooled

1/2 cup milk

1/3 cup molasses (I used fancy)

1 1/2 cups grated apple

3/4 cup raisins

1. Preheat oven to 350 and grease a bundt pan, or two loaf pans, or I used 6 mini bundt pans.

2. Stir together all dry ingredients (flour through sugar). Add apple and raisins and mix in.

3. Beat together eggs, butter, milk and molasses. Add to dry ingredients and stir to just combine.

4. Pour into prepared pans and bake 35-40 minutes for loaves, add another five minutes or so for a big bundt pan, or reduce by 10-15 minutes for mini bundts or muffins. Remove from oven, let cool for 5 minutes in the pan, then turn out onto wire rack to cool completely. Serve drenched in drunken sauce.

Enjoy!

Ky

 

Leave a Reply

