blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Sesame Snack Cookies June 6, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Cookies,Make Ahead,Quick and easy,Vegetarian — blisteringlydrunk @ 8:14 am
Tags: , , ,

It’s my turn to host bookclub this month and I have been planning on trying some new snacks. Since I didn’t have to cook dinner yesterday (due to a brother who loves to barbeque), I thought I would get a jump start on some cooking. I was tempted to call these a cracker, since I think we will be eating them more like a cracker than a cookie, but they have the unmistakable richness of a cookie. I found the recipe here, but had to adjust it based on ingredient availability. I have not actually kid tested this one, as I am saving these for the grown ups, but my instinct tells me they might be a little rich for my children anyway. That said, if you like sesame or tahini, you will like these. I think ideally they should be paired with something light; fresh herbed goat cheese or raita would be lovely, although I have something else in mind (coming soon to a post near you).

 

1/3 cup tahini

1/2 cup spelt flour

1 (scant) tsp of salt

5 tsp sesame seeds

1 egg

2-3 Tbsp water

1. Stir together flour, salt and sesame seeds. Pour in tahini and use a fork to work everything together. Add the egg and combine thoroughly. At this point, my dough was still not coming together into a ball, so I added about 2 tsp of water. This allowed me to get it to hold together in a ball, however, next time I think I will add a bit more water, as it was still a little to crumbly at the slicing stage.

2. Form the dough into 2 logs (mine were roughly the size and shape of a mini cucumber), cover and place in the fridge for about an hour to firm up.

3. Preheat oven to 360 (I’m sure 350 would be fine if your oven is not this exact). Line a cookie sheet with parchment or silicone and take out your logs. Slice into 1 cm thick rounds. This is where mine started to fall apart, so I had to stick them back together a bit. Hopefully, you will have used more water than me and you won’t have this problem. Place on cookie sheet (they don’t seem to spread at all) and bake for 14-15 minutes, or until the edges are just starting to brown.

4. Let cool completely on the pan before serving. Can be stored in an airtight container for up to two weeks. I imagine you could also make the logs ahead of time and freeze them, so all you had to do was slice and bake them. This made 20 small cookies for me.

Enjoy!

Ky

 

One Response to “Sesame Snack Cookies”

  1. […] It definitely made a beautiful plate for book club piled high on mini cucumber rounds and sesame cookies – this is something I hope to always have a batch of in the freezer for last minute company […]


Leave a Reply

