blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Ricotta stuffed Portabello mushrooms June 3, 2011

Filed under: Mains,Quick and easy,Vegetarian — blisteringlydrunk @ 7:59 am
Tags: , , , ,

Everytime single time I cook with portabello mushrooms, without realizing it, I find myself singing “Portabello Road” from “Bedknobs and Broomsticks” under my breath. Same thing when I’m looking for them at the grocery store. And then I realize that I’m singing it and I always have to think for a minute to realize why. Just a little insight for you today on the inner workings of my mind; I’m soooooooooo complex.

This is a great and simple recipe that I have made many times (though not for a while) that originated in that complex brain of mine, during one of my many “how can I get my family to eat more vegetarian meals” internal brainstorming sessions. The answer was: cheese. This is the basic recipe, but feel free to add and subtract according to taste; some marinara sauce on the bottom or for topping is good; substitute zucchini for the mushrooms, just cut them lengthwise and scrape out the seeds (and stir a little lemon juice or zest in with the cheese); stir parmesan in with the ricotta and skip the mozza; sub whatever green you like for the chard; use any fresh herb you have on hand; there are a million ways to do this.

4 large Portabello mushrooms, stems removed and gills scraped

olive oil

salt and pepper

2 cups light ricotta cheese

1 1/2 – 2 cups chopped fresh swiss chard (my chard was tender and straight out of the garden, otherwise you may prefer spinach)

a handful of fresh thyme, leaves only

4 cloves garlic, finely chopped

more salt and pepper

4 thin slices off a fresh mozza ball or about 10-12 Tbsp of grated mozza

1. Preheat oven to 450. Brush the mushrooms with olive oil and season with salt and pepper.  Place on a lined cookie sheet and pop in the oven to start roasting for about 15 minutes while you throw everything else together.

2. In a large bowl, stir together ricotta, chard, garlic, thyme, salt and pepper (to taste).

3. Remove mushrooms from oven, drain any accumulated liquid, and stuff the mushrooms with the ricotta mixture; you might have to really heap it, but it should stay together. Top with a slice of mozza and bake for 15-20 minutes, or until heated through and the mozza is golden. Serve immediately.

Enjoy!

Ky

P.S. I just found myself singing “Portabello Road” again; at least this time I immediately put two and two together.

 

Leave a Reply

