blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Cinnamon Pork Tacos June 3, 2011

Filed under: Mains,Pork — blisteringlydrunk @ 10:37 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I’m just going to say it: I love pork. I think it’s my meat of choice. Healthier than beef, more interesting than chicken, cheaper than both and available in countless cuts, styles and preparations….if I had to survive on one meat alone, I would definitely choose pork. I think my love afair with pork began the first time I made my favourite lasagne sauce (recipe to come…sometime?), which begins with the sauteing of bacon with cinnamon <sigh>. If you have yet to experience the heavenly scent of pork mingling in a pan with cinnamon, I suggest you put some in a frying pan immediately. Step aside fried onions, you have nothing on my cinnamon bacon!

This recipe was born out of a desire to (a) make use of the odds and ends in my fridge, (b) find another excuse to fill my house with the scent of pork and cinnamon and (c) lighten up and change up one of my favourite easy, quick and cheap weeknight meals: tacos! I find that aside from the tortillas, I have all of these ingredients in my house at all times. Substitutions can easily be made, so feel free to use this recipe as a fridge-clearing opportunity (I usually do!).

Last night, we ate these in tiny whole wheat tortillas and topped them with fresh jalapenos and this Lime and Cabbage Slaw, which I added a big bunch of cilantro to. Sometimes I’m ambitious and whip out some homemade tortillas, which really ups the ante on this meal. They’re also great topped with sliced mango, red onion, hot peppers and plain yogurt.

Hope you enjoy!

Katie

yeilds about 10 small tacos

olive oil
1 medium yam, cubed
1/2 large onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic, smashed and finely chopped
1 1/2 lbs lean ground pork
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
2 handfuls frozen corn
1 1/2 tbsp cinnamon
1 tsp coarse kosher salt (if using a fine salt, reduce to 1/2 t)
1/4 tsp ground black pepper
1 tsp ground coriander
1/4 tsp chipotle powder
1 tsp smoked paprika (not the hot stuff)
1/4 tsp cayenne
1 t chili powder

1. Get a big frying pan warm over medium high heat and drizzle in a little oil. Add the yams and cook, stirring occasionally until they start to soften.

2. Once yams are soft, add onion, garlic and half the cinnamon. Cook and stir for a minute or two, then add in the pork and all the seasoning.

3. When the pork starts to turn white and the fat is cooking out, add in the beans and corn and give it a good stir.

4. Reduce heat to medium low and leave until the pork is cooked through and everything is good and hot. Taste and adjust seasoning as desired.

5. Serve with tortillas and top as desired

 

One Response to “Cinnamon Pork Tacos”

  1. Ky Says:

    I can vouch for these tacos; they rock! Nice to see you posting here again, I was feeling lonely.


Leave a Reply

