blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Garam Masala Cookies = WOW May 27, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Cookies,Quick and easy,Vegetarian — blisteringlydrunk @ 5:37 pm
Tags: , ,

I have been baking way too much lately, and I had firmly resolved not to bake any more for at least a week, maybe more, until I saw this recipe on ELS, which blew away all of my good intentions. I immediately set about whipping up a batch of these cookies and I was not at all sad that I did. If you are a ginger snap person, you are going to love these. I think the key is having good quality, fresh spices. Also, next time I think I will make them into a slightly smaller cookie; more of a two biter to have with coffee or tea. These are crunchy, sugary, buttery, chewy, spicy goodness; basically all I’m asking for in a cookie that is definitely not good for me.

1/2 cup butter, softened

1/2 cup dark brown sugar

1/4 cup white sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 cup flour (I used white, but I think next time I will use spelt)

1 (generous) tsp garam masala

1/4 tsp each, salt and ground cardamom

1/2 tsp each, baking soda and cinnamon

1. Preheat oven to 375. Cream together first 4 ingredients (through vanilla) in a large mixing bowl using your electric mixer.

2. In a smaller bowl, whisk together the remaining ingredients and then add to the sugar mixture. Beat with mixer until everything is combined but crumbly.

3. Use your hands to form into balls (about a Tbsp of dough each). Place on lined cookie sheet and flatten slightly with your hands. Leave a bit of room, as they will spread slightly.

4. Bake for 10-12 minutes, maybe less if you decide on smaller cookies.

Enjoy!

Ky

PS These can easily be vegan if you sub vegan margarine for the butter

 

 

Leave a Reply

