blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Banana Oat Waffles May 24, 2011

Filed under: Breakfast,Quick and easy,Vegetarian — blisteringlydrunk @ 4:42 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

If I ever ask my oldest daughter what she wants for breakfast without the usual list attached (“We have cereal, bagels, or oatmeal this morning”), she inevitably requests waffles. Not being a huge breakfast person myself, I don’t often go in for it, but once in a while you have to break down. This is a favourite variation on plain old waffles; I find the banana oatmeal flavour covers for the fact that I have made them whole grain, so no complaints from the kids (or my husband “Can’t you ever just make things the way they are supposed to be?”).  If it’s just our family, I usually cut this in half, but if you like a lot of waffles, go for it.

2 eggs, lightly beaten

2 cups milk

2 ripe bananas, mashed

1 tsp vanilla

5 Tbsp butter, melted

2 cups spelt flour

1 1/3 cups rolled oats

2 Tbsp sugar

4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp soda

1 tsp salt

In a large bowl, stir together the first 5 ingredients (through butter). In a medium bowl, combine remaining ingredients, then add to wet. Stir until just combined, then cook as you would any other waffle. My waffle maker is ancient and has cast iron plates and a temperature gauge that has 3 settings; warming, bake, and hot. It took some work to master this baby, but 9 years after that thrift store impulse buy and I think I finally have it mastered.

Enjoy!

Ky

 

Leave a Reply

