blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Maple Quinoa Trail Mix cookies . . . That are good for you? May 21, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Cookies — blisteringlydrunk @ 7:58 am
Tags: , , , ,

Good for you being, of course, relative to the number of mini eggs you put in these. We are planning a big hike with the kids for the long weekend, so I have been experimenting all week with some energy packed, portable food. I know I’ll need it all summer anyway, so this seemed like a good time to perfect a few recipes. Consequently, I have done a ton of cooking, but no posting. So I thought I would start with this, because everyone likes cookies, but I will warn you now, there is a theme coming, and it is quinoa. It occurred to me last week that cooked quinoa would be fantastic in baked goods, due to its slightly sweet flavour, plus it packs a protein and whole grain punch that would increase the food value of pretty much anything, so I cooked up a bunch of it and have been putting it in everything I can think of. I’ve made these cookies twice now, and I think I hit the jackpot the second time around. Hope you enjoy them as much as I, my family, my neighbours, some out of town friends, and all the kids around my house did.

Wet:

1/2 cup butter, softened

2/3 cup maple syrup (I think you could go half and half maple syrup and brown sugar if you wanted, just make sure to use real maple syrup)

1 tsp maple extract (again find a real one, artificial flavour here would be wrong; if you can’t find it, use vanilla instead, but look for it, because the maple is really nice with the quinoa)

2 eggs

Cream butter in a large bowl with electric mixer until fluffy. Add in maple syrup and beat until well blended and fluffy again. Beat in extract and eggs, one at a time, until everything fluffs up again.

Meanwhile, combine in a medium bowl:

Dry:

1 1/4 cups spelt (or half whole wheat, half all purpose) flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

Add to wet ingredients and stir just to combine. Preheat the oven to 325, then add:

All the goodies:

1 1/2 cups cooked quinoa (preferably cooled to at least room temperature, so as not to melt the butter)

2 cups rolled oats

1/3 cup wheat germ

3/4 cup pepitas (or nuts of your choice)

1/2 cup dried cherries, halved (dried cranberries would also work well here)

3/4 cup smashed mini eggs (I used mini eggs because they were on clearance, but the idea is the same as trail mix, so in the future, I will probably use smarties or reese’s pieces or something similar)

Stir until everything is evenly distributed. I then made rough ‘logs’, about 3 fingers thick and broke off 2″ hunks to put on parchment lined cookie sheets. I then flattened each cookie a little and pressed a mini egg into the top (optional).  You could also drop by spoonfuls, its just a little harder to control the size and shape.  Bake for about 14 minutes, or until browned and holding their shape.  Let cool on pan for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

Enjoy!

Ky

 

One Response to “Maple Quinoa Trail Mix cookies . . . That are good for you?”

  1. Kristi Says:

    Helloooo – yum!! And I like the theme – keep those quinoa recipes coming! I just did up a great chocolate quinoa brownie the other night but didn’t get a picture before I devoured pretty much the whole tray!


Leave a Reply

