blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Granola Goodness May 21, 2011

Filed under: Breakfast,Desserts,Make Ahead,Quick and easy,Vegetarian — blisteringlydrunk @ 8:21 pm

One of my go-to snacks is plain greek yogurt, fruit and granola.  I have been buying some fabulous almond & cranberry granola from the local “Bread Lady” for a couple years now (I also get my Ezekial bread from her too…..if you’re around Winnipeg, ask me for details), so have never got around to making my own!  I’m on a mission to produce some great granola that contains lots of healthy fats, proteins, has great crunch and is low on sugar.  This one came up when I Googled “clean granola” and looked good enough to give it a try!  It comes from www.cleaneatingonline.com and originally comes from my girl Tosca Reno’s Clean Eating Cookbook…I just can’t escape that one, I love all the recipes.  Going to try to cut down on oil and sugar in future attempts, but is pretty tasty as is!!

Dry Ingredients:

  • 1 cup rye flakes
  • 1 cup rolled oats (not quick oats)
  • 1 cup kamut flakes
  • 1 cup wheat flakes (I used spelt flakes)
  • 1 cup raw, sliced, unsalted almonds
  • 1/2 cup unsalted sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 cup seasame seeds (I used unsalted, dry-roasted pumpkin seeds)

Coating:

  • 1/2 cup Sucanat
  • pinch sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup organic honey (I used some maple syrup too)

1/2 cup raisins, 1/2 cup dried, unsweetened cranberries, 1/2 cup sundried apricots (use whatever dried fruits you like, just watch for all the sweetened varieties)

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.  In a large bowl, mix all dry ingredients until evenly distributed.  Set aside.  Meanwhile, in a small saucepan, place all coating mixture ingredients.  Gently warm contents and stir until sugar is dissolved.  Pour liquid coating mixture over dry ingredients in a mixing bowl.  Mix all ingredients until everything is coated.  Spread granola onto a large cookie sheet lined with parchement paper.  Bake for 40 minutes, stirring frequently.  Transfer granola to cooling rack and sprinkle with fruit.  Let cool completely.  When cool, transfer to an airtight container.  Keeps in cupboard for 1 week or freeze.

I also added some tiny chocolate chips for a littl treat….Enjoy!

Kristi 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Granola Goodness”

  1. That looks awesome, but quick question; what is Sucanat?
    Kyla

  2. Kristi Says:

    Sorry, should have expanded that one. It’s organic natural sugar cane…Sucanat is the brand I purchase at Superstore. The Bulk Barn also carries an organic sugar cane for a great price!


Leave a Reply

