blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Toasted Quinoa Porridge May 17, 2011

Filed under: Breakfast,Quick and easy,Vegetarian — blisteringlydrunk @ 9:25 am
Tags: , , , ,

I know this isn’t a new concept, but every time I make this it makes me really happy, so I thought I would put it up here. This is rich and nutty in flavour from the toasting, plus sweet from the grains and milk, so no sugar is really necessary. I wish my kids liked it as much as I do. Oh well, sometimes you have to do things just for you!

1/2 cup quinoa

1  cup each, milk and water

1/2 tsp cinnamon

pinch of salt

1. Toast quinoa in a heavy bottomed saucepan over medium heat for about 3 minutes or until toasted and fragrant.

2. Stir in remaining ingredients and bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat to low and simmer for about 25 minutes or until much of the liquid is absorbed and the grains are soft.

3. Serve immediately, with extra milk and/or maple syrup if you wish. Makes 2 good sized servings.

Enjoy!

Ky

 

4 Responses to “Toasted Quinoa Porridge”

  1. Meagan Says:

    This will be breakfast tomorrow!

  2. Kristi Says:

    This will also be breakfast for us tomorrow! Have you tried it with almond milk?

    • I haven’t, but great idea. That would add a lovely flavour. Where’s all your great recipes these days, by the way?
      Ky

      • Kristi Says:

        I’ve been cooking and taking pictures, just have not had the time to post! My bad, will do asap! I’ve been trying out too many recipes, not enough time to perfect! And I keep trying yours so no use to double post..LOL!


Leave a Reply

