blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Mom’s ultimate banana oatmeal chocolate chip muffins May 5, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Breakfast,Muffins — blisteringlydrunk @ 7:55 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

AKA I’m-a-terrible-and-unorganized-mother-who-forgot-that-she-was-in-charge-of-sending-the-snack-for-preschool-until-an-hour-before-sending-my-husband-to-volunteer muffins. So that was my panic attack at 7:54am yesterday morning. I don’t know why it didn’t occur to me before that very moment that I was to be sending a snack for all 18 4 year olds, or, for that matter, why it did finally occur to me. Luckily, I had an unopened box of fruit bars on the shelf in the cold room and this recipe, which I have made a million times before, always seem to have all the ingredients for, and can mix, bake, and cool in under 45 mins – thank you Mom, these are the tools you gave me. This recipe is currently written out in a much younger me’s handwriting and stuffed into my “This Recipe Bears Repeating” recipe box (photo below). These were made A LOT growing up, and I’m pretty sure they were usually consumed before they were completely cooled (so the chocolate was still melty). I have since adapted them to be whole grain, and I often sub in plain yogurt for the oil, but this time I had no yogurt. Here we go:

1. In a large mixing bowl, stir together the following:

1 cup spelt or whole wheat flour

3 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp each, cinnamon & salt

1/4 tsp nutmeg

3/4 cup rolled oats

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup chocolate chips

2. Preheat oven to 375. In a small bowl, stir together:

1 egg, lightly beaten

a scant 1/4 cup oil (which for me is less than 1/4 cup but more than an 1/8) or about 1/3 cup whole plain yogurt

either, 1/2 cup milk and 2 mashed bananas

or, 1/3 cup milk and 2/3 cup applesauce

3. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir just to combine. Spray your muffin pans or line with papers and divide the mixture evenly among 12 regular muffin holes or 24 minis (as pictured). Bake for approximately 15-18 minutes for big muffins or 12-14 minutes for mini muffins

Enjoy!

Ky

 

2 Responses to “Mom’s ultimate banana oatmeal chocolate chip muffins”

  1. Parents have so much other stuff to do and they gotta provide snacks too! (This mild outrage from a nonparent.) You did good though. Awesome recipe.

  2. I remember coming home from the hospital after giving birth and finding these on my doorstep. They literally saved me (and, no, I did not share them with anyone else) and began what is a truly beautiful friendship…


Leave a Reply

