blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Upside down Mango Gingerbread Cake April 13, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Cakes — blisteringlydrunk @ 1:58 pm
Tags: , , ,

This is a recipe that I have had on my list of things to try for a while now, so when I discovered that I was to host an impromptu dinner party for my entire family on Monday night, I decided to bbq and put time into making cake instead. This absolutely did not disappoint; it was soft and moist and gingery and everything I had hoped, really. Also, pretty simple. The original recipe is found here, but I always seem to have to change something (it’s a problem I have), so I increased the amount of fresh ginger and used mango instead of pear. That’s only because I have a lot of mangoes right now, pear would also be lovely on this. We had it with maple whipped cream, but warm with vanilla ice cream would be fantastic as well. My mom sent me an email this morning to reiterate that this was the best gingerbread she’s ever had, which is the first time she’s ever done something like that, so I think this one’s a keeper.

Topping:

1 Tbsp butter

2 Tbsp good quality honey

1/3 cup packed dark brown sugar

1 ripe mango, peeled and thinly sliced

Cake:

1/4 cup butter, softened

1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar

1 egg

1/2 cup buttermilk (I used milk soured with vinegar)

1/4 cup fancy molasses

2 Tbsp grated fresh ginger (worth it, don’t be lazy and use powdered)

1 cup flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp each, allspice and salt

1. Preheat oven to 350 and grease a 9″ cake pan (round or square).

2. Prepare topping by melting butter in a small saucepan and then adding honey and brown sugar, stirring until well combined. Pour into cake pan while warm and spread it to cover. Don’t worry if it’s hard to spread, it will spread out more as it cooks and get into every corner, I promise.  Lay mangoes over top, placing them very close together, as they will shrink.

3. In a medium bowl, beat together brown sugar and butter until fluffy. Then add egg, buttermilk, molasses, and ginger, beating again until well blended.

4. In a small bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, cinnamon, allspice and salt. Add to wet ingredients, and stir until just combined.

5. Pour into prepared pan and bake for about 40 minutes, until cake is springy in the middle. Let cool for 5 minutes, then run a knife around the edges and invert onto a plate or platter while still nice and hot.

6. Top it how you want it and serve.

Enjoy!

Ky

 

Leave a Reply

