blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Meatloaf, beatloaf, I hate meatloaf! April 4, 2011

Filed under: Mains,Make Ahead,Pork,Quick and easy,Turkey — blisteringlydrunk @ 12:55 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

That’s still one of my favourite lines from A Christmas Story. That, and, “You’ll shoot your eye out, kid.”  But, as it happens, I don’t hate meatloaf, and my husband loves it, so I have been working to find a recipe that I really like and I think I have finally hit it. I started with this recipe from Alton Brown, and adjusted it to use pork and turkey instead of beef and updated the flavours to suit those meats. I also topped it off with my mom’s classic meatloaf sauce, which my husband also loves (turns out he has mostly been faking it all these years and he is actually a meat and potatoes guy at the core), recipe at the bottom.  The sauce is definitely optional though, the glaze on this meatloaf is plenty for me. Also good to know, I made this into 2 meatloaves, one of which I froze after cooking for a fast weeknight dinner in the future. One loaf fed 3 hungry adults and two not so hungry small children, with an adult sized piece leftover. So this recipe could easily be halved or served for a big dinner party. If you like meatloaf, you’ll love this one and if you don’t like meatloaf, this might just convince you.

Meatloaf

2 1/2 – 3 lbs total, combined ground pork and ground turkey (aim for about half and half)

6 ounces croutons (mine were rosemary garlic)

1/2 tsp chipotle powder

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

1 tsp chili powder

2-3 sprigs fresh rosemary

1 small onion, peeled and quartered

1 medium carrot, peeled and quartered

1/2 red bell pepper, quartered

4 cloves garlic

1 1/2 tsp salt

1 egg

In a food processor, combine croutons through chili powder and pulse until finely crumbled. Transfer to a large bowl and add the meat. Next (without rinsing it) add the rosemary, onion, carrot, pepper and garlic to the food processor and pulse until finely chopped, but not a paste. Add the vegetables, the salt, and the egg to the meat and bread crumbs and mix with your hands until well combined, but trying not to squeeze the meat too much (that makes it dry).  Dump it all onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment or silicone and form into two french bread shaped loaves. Bake at 375 for about an hour, at which point I would cut one of the loaves in half to check to make sure it’s done. Mine took a bit longer than an hour, but I was following a recipe that said to cook at 325, which I did for the first 30 mins and then realized that was crazy and turned the heat up.

Glaze

1/2 cup ketchup

1 Tbsp honey

1 tsp cumin

dash of chipotle pepper sauce

dash of Worchestershire sauce

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl and spread over meatloaf about 10 -15 minutes into cooking.

Mom’s Famous Meatloaf Sauce

1 tsp butter

10 mushrooms, sliced

salt and pepper to taste

1 cup (approx) sour cream or plain yogurt

1 can condensed cream of mushroom soup

 

In a small saute pan over medium heat, cook the mushrooms in the butter with some salt and pepper until soft. Add the can of soup and enough of the sour cream to make it a thick sauce. Serve over sliced meatloaf.

Enjoy!

Ky

P.S. I just realized that this looks like a lot of work and it’s really not. I put the meatloaf together and into the oven in under 15 mins and then cleaned the prep area and had the glaze mixed and on the loaf in another 10 mins. I then had plenty of time to relax and have a drink with my brother (who was visiting for dinner) before starting some mashed potatoes and roasted carrots for the sides. And the sauce is done in about 5 minutes. So just do it already!

 

 

2 Responses to “Meatloaf, beatloaf, I hate meatloaf!”

  1. Made this. All I can say is Win! Ren

  2. V Says:

    I made this last night, it was a hit! I would eliminate the carrots next time though. The grocery store didn’t have ground pork at the time so I picked up some mild Italian sausage, it was delish!


Leave a Reply

