blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Creme Fraiche! April 4, 2011

Filed under: Quick and easy,Sides — blisteringlydrunk @ 4:31 pm
Tags: ,

Holy crap…you can make creme fraiche at home! Why didn’t I know this? I have bought creme fraiche exactly once in my life because it costs a gazillion dollars at the few specialty shops that carry it. Usually I just go and look at it on the shelf, lusting over the possibilities for dessert and breakfast. I’m not exaggerating, that’s actually what I do. Until now!

Food In Jars taught me the sweet sweet ways of making creme fraiche at home. There’s really only one thing to say: sweet sweetness.

Katie

What you need:
whipping cream
buttermilk

What you do:
Pour the whipping cream in a jar, then top with a good glug of buttermilk. Stir and leave uncovered at room temperature for about 24 hours. The longer you leave it, the more tangy it gets. Move it to the fridge once done. I noticed mine thickened a bit after a day in the fridge.

 

Leave a Reply

