blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Broccoli Cheddar Risotto AKA Risotto My Kids Will Eat March 27, 2011

Filed under: Fish and Seafood,Mains,Quick and easy — blisteringlydrunk @ 1:44 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I ran across a recipe over here the other day that made me think there was still hope for getting my family to like risotto. So I decided to give it a whirl and adjust my fallback risotto recipe into something a little more family friendly and it turned out really well and everyone ate it up. However, if I was making it for just me, or for other fans of risotto, I would make a few changes. First, cut half a cup of the broth and replace it with a dry white wine or vermouth; I missed that flavour a lot, but I think it is a bit strong for my gang. Second, and I would even try this for my family, a nice, old white cheddar here would really kick the flavour up a few notches. So, if you have some unsure risotto fans, try it as is, or if you are already a fan, add in the wine and stronger cheese and dig in!

1 small onion

4 stalks of celery

3 cloves of garlic

1 tbsp each, olive oil and butter

1 1/2 cups arborio rice

4 – 5 cups broth (chicken or vegetable), kept warm, but not simmering, on stove

2 cups broccoli florets, cut quite small

2 cups grated cheddar cheese

1 tbsp butter (optional)

1. Finely chop onion, celery and garlic; I use my food processor so everything is really quite fine. Then heat oil and butter over medium heat in a fairly large, heavy bottomed frying pan that has a lid (or a way to cover it for a few minutes at the end), and saute the veggies until soft but not brown.

2. Add in the rice and saute for 1 or 2 minutes, until translucent. Then add a ladle full of broth and stir until absorbed (if using wine, add that first and then start on the broth). Add another ladle full, stirring until absorbed, continuing until all broth is absorbed. The first few additions usually absorb fairly quickly, at which point I lower the heat a bit (1-2 dots on my stove), and then it usually take a minute or two to absorb each addition.

3. While the rice is cooking, lightly steam the broccoli until just tender, then add it into the risotto about 2 or 3 ladle fulls before the end.

4. Once all broth is absorbed and/or the rice is cooked the way you like it, remove from heat and stir in the cheese and, if you wish, an extra tablespoon of butter, then cover and let it sit for about 5 min.

5. Remove the lid, stir one more time and serve.

We had this with some glazed salmon that I found over at my friend Meagan’s blog, Deanna’s Daughter, that was amazing and very simple. I used chipotle powder instead of black pepper, but other than that I followed the recipe to the letter and it was fantastic; cooked to perfection and wonderful flavour. I will make that again for sure, so check it out.

Enjoy!

Kyla

 

Leave a Reply

