blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

The (Tahini) Ball Post March 22, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Vegetarian — blisteringlydrunk @ 8:53 am
Tags: , , , , ,

The Balls

I’ve been struggling to try and come up with more creative titles for my posts lately and I’ve not been doing well with it. Today’s alternate titles include: Balls of Joy, Kyla’s Favourite Balls, Sweet Balls of Goodness, Healthy AND Tasty Balls, the list goes on, but I think you see where I’m going with this. I’ve decided to save my creative title for the next post. On to the balls. These really are my favourite treat that I forget are also pretty good for you. They have become my post workout snack for two reasons; one, I like to follow up doing something good for me with doing something bad for me to keep the scales balanced (these have replaced chocolate bars – the good ones, none of this Hershey’s crap). And two, the protein in the tahini helps make one of these a filling and satisfying treat. I’m also very happy to feed these to my children as a treat instead of a cookie or other baked good, the sugars being unprocessed and so easier for them to burn off without crazy mood swings (not that I’m knocking cookies, how else would I balance out salad?). And if you are into the raw food movement, these will fit the bill, just leave out the toasting of the coconut. Enjoy your balls, I know I do.

 

1 cup tahini

1/2 cup maple syrup

1/4 cup cocoa (you can use a bit more if you like a stronger chocolate taste, but try these first, they’re fairly rich)

1/3 – 1/2 cup shredded coconut, plus extra for rolling

 

 

 

 

Lightly toast the coconut in a dry pan over medium heat, shaking the pan once in a while, until the coconut begins to brown. Meanwhile, stir all the other ingredients together.

 

 

 

 

Add the coconut to the other ingredients and mix well, then place the mixture in the fridge for an hour or so to firm up before rolling. You aren’t going to hurt this if you need to leave it for longer, so go with what is most convenient for you, just make sure you cover the bowl so it doesn’t dry out.

 

 

 

 

You are now ready to roll your balls. I usually aim for a small tablespoon, which yields approx. 24 balls. Scoop it out, roll it between your palms and then roll it in some coconut. Or get creative; you could use extra cocoa, or cinnamon, or maybe some crushed nuts of some sort. Who doesn’t love balls rolled in nuts? I don’t know if you can sense it, but all I have been able to think of this whole post is the classic Alec Baldwin Schwetty balls skit; how could you not? Anyway, store these in the fridge (or freezer) or they won’t be firm enough (I’m not going to say it) and enjoy!

Ky

 

One Response to “The (Tahini) Ball Post”

  1. Meagan Says:

    Ha ha ha – love it!! – I should forward it to B’s work e-mail…


Leave a Reply

