blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Roasted Carrot and Yam Soup March 13, 2011

Filed under: Mains,Quick and easy,Soups,Vegetarian — blisteringlydrunk @ 10:15 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I’m not going to lie; carrot soup has never sounded all that appealing to me.  I like soup, I like carrots, but still, I just couldn’t imagine it was that good. But after a week of nursing two young girls through a bad stomach flu and eating terribly (read: whatever I could grab off the counter on my way past, usually some sort of white bread that I was trying to get the girls to eat, including, but not limited to, timbits) I felt like I needed an injection of vegetables in my life. I saw this recipe on Everybody Likes Sandwiches, saw a giant bag of carrots in my fridge and took inspiration where my sleep deprived brain could find it. I decided that all veggies taste better roasted and that this soup needed all the flavour it could get (my confidence not being very high in this recipe). Also, I didn’t have any oranges and I had some leftover roasted yams in my fridge. And so a soup was born. And it was really, really good; comfort food good. This will be made again and again in my house; hope you like it too.

12 small/medium carrots, roughly chopped

1/2 medium yam, roughly chopped (or leftover roasted yams from your fridge)

1 tsp or so of olive oil

1-2 sprigs fresh rosemary (don’t skip this if you can, it’s worth it)

Salt and pepper

Stir all of the above together and roast in a hot oven (400-425) for about an hour, stirring occasionally. This can be done the day before, in the morning, or directly before you make the soup, whatever works best. I think for me I will make a point of making this soup out of leftovers, so I will roast extra when making dinner the night before and then use up the veggies in this soup.

1-2 Tbsp butter

1 onion, chopped

1, 1″ piece of ginger, peeled and chopped

2 vegetable bouillon cubes

3 heaping Tbsp thick yogurt

1-2 cloves garlic, minced

 

Melt butter in a large pot over medium-low heat and add the onion and ginger. Stir until softened, but not browned.  Add about 3 cups of water and the bouillon cubes and bring to a boil. Simmer for 10-15 min, or until the bouillon is well dissolved and everything is soft.

Either use an immersion blender to make things smooth or do it in batches in a regular blender (like me). Set back over low heat to stay warm and stir in the fresh garlic and yogurt. We had it with no-knead bread toasts with brie and pear vanilla jam (recipe to be hopefully posted soon)

melted on top. Yum!

Enjoy!

Ky

 

One Response to “Roasted Carrot and Yam Soup”

  1. […] soup (well that’s the top three anyway, but we can’t forget about Cowgirl soup and Roasted Carrot soup). The cinnamon in this adds depth and warmth without taking over, plus it really pairs well with […]


Leave a Reply

