blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Pear Feta Arugula Salad March 4, 2011

Filed under: Quick and easy,Salads,Sides — blisteringlydrunk @ 12:01 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

So, I have a giant backlog of things to post (also books to read, people to call, laundry to fold, etc., but that’s not what we’re doing here), but this salad took over my tastebuds, completely by surprise last night. I thought it would be just sort of ok, especially since it was just a random throw together of things that happened to be in my fridge (really, the dressing was a leftover hot sandwich sauce), but this was knock-your-socks-off tasty. Hence, everything is staying on the back burner and today you get this (and maybe some other stuff if my day proves more productive than I dare to hope). The flavours here are simple but each one stands out and is complimented by the other. This is fast and easy and wonderful; you really won’t be disappointed!

baby arugula (enough to fill a salad serving bowl)

1 ripe Anjou (or your preferred variety) pear, cored and chopped

1/3 – 1/2 cup cubed or crumbled feta  (I like cubed because I want to bite into giant hunks of it as often as possible), preferably sheep or goat’s milk

Dressing:

2 tbsp thick yogurt

1 tbsp lemon juice

1 clove garlic finely chopped

1 tsp honey or agave syrup

2 tsp Dijon mustard

Stir dressing together as early as possible to give the garlic a chance to really work it’s way through, then toss with salad and enjoy. And, if you are me, you eat a whole giant bowl of this yourself for lunch the next day too (seriously, look closely below, you can see my fork in there).

Ky

 

3 Responses to “Pear Feta Arugula Salad”

  1. […] – 1/2 cup cubed or crumbled feta (see earlier posts about my love of cubed […]

  2. […] had ours with my favourite new salad and a lovely old vine garnacha; yummy! But in the future I could see this as a lovely brunch dish […]

  3. […] Bake 35 to 40 minutes, or until set.  Serve hot or warm.  I served mine with Pear Feta Arugula Salad. […]


Leave a Reply

