blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Grandma’s biscuit mix March 2, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Make Ahead,Quick and easy,Sides — blisteringlydrunk @ 3:42 pm
Tags: , , ,

I know this sounds like a really boring post, but once you have this, you can make a lot of really wonderful things in a very short period of time. My grandmother always has this on hand, and a couple of years ago she gave me the recipe. I didn’t really think I would use it, but after a couple of last minute breakfast guests, or deciding too late I needed a bread to serve with a soup/stew/chili, I had used up the container she gave me along with the recipe and decided that this stuff was worth having around.  I think you will too.

7 cups flour (any kind you like, but I would cut it with some all-purpose or your biscuits will be too heavy)

4 Tbsp baking powder

1 Tbsp salt

1 Tbsp sugar

Sift the above together in a large bowl, then cut in with a pastry cutter:

1 cup shortening

1/2 cup butter

I store mine in the fridge in a sealed container, but Grandma has always kept hers in a canister on the counter.

1 cup of the mix will make 3 good sized biscuits when mixed with 1/4 cup of milk or add an egg in there as well and you have scones, then bake at 425 for 12-15 minutes. I often add fresh herbs and grated cheese for a savory biscuit or some frozen berries and sugar for breakfast scones. The possibilities are only limited by your brain. Here is my family’s favourite combination.

Enjoy!

Ky

 

One Response to “Grandma’s biscuit mix”

  1. […] 1 cup Grandma’s biscuit mix […]


Leave a Reply

