blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

California Chili March 2, 2011

Filed under: Mains,Make Ahead,Soups,Vegetarian — blisteringlydrunk @ 3:09 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I have been meaning to try this recipe since it showed up in my mailbox in the February issue of Bon Appetit. The -30ish weather that we’ve been enjoying this week was the perfect excuse to stay inside and throw an extra large pot of something on the stove…so vegetarian chili it was!

 

I made only a few minor changes to the original recipe, which can be found here. Here are my changes and notes:

1. I used frozen garden tomatoes rather than canned. The frozen tomatoes have nice flavour, but I think the juice from the canned tomatoes is needed. I missed that extra tomatoey kick. I think next time I will opt for the canned and make the extra effort to search for fire-roasted tomatoes, as the recipe suggests.

2. I used standard, dry black beans, which tasted great. Next time I’m at the Farmer’s Market, I am going to look for some heirloom beans, maybe a mix of black beans and chickpeas.

We ate the chili topped with a dollop of yogurt, chopped red onion, fresh jalapeno slices and a little sharp cheddar.

If you want to freeze this recipe, you should stop once the black beans are cooked and freeze it without the squash or bulgar in it. I still cut up all the squash and froze a bag of precut squash along with the chili so that it’s all ready to go for a quick meal. To prepare it from frozen, thaw and warm up the chili, then throw in your chopped squash and a couple handfuls of bulgar. Simmer for 30 minutes before serving.

 

Leave a Reply

