blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Pakistani “Old Clothes” Beef Curry or Nihari March 1, 2011

Filed under: Beef,Mains,Quick and easy — blisteringlydrunk @ 8:03 am
Tags: , , , ,

Attractive name, I know. Apparently it is named so because the meat falls apart like old clothes, not because it tastes like old clothes. In fact, this had a really different flavour from what I am used to; the fennel is really prominent, which I loved and even though I reduced the chili powder slightly (for the sake of small children) this had a nice hidden heat to it. Also ridiculously easy and done in the slow cooker, so you can serve as part of a complicated dinner without adding more to do on the stovetop.  We had it with Palak Paneer, Stove Top Naan, and a cheater version of Peas Pullao in my rice cooker as a Sunday feast with some friends. Then we had leftovers as street food style sandwiches in the leftover naan with a quicky yogurt garlic sauce (yogurt, garlic, honey, dijon) and shredded cucumber, carrots, peppers, and onions on top. Also a little crumbled paneer. Soooo good!

Adapted from my new favourite cookbook, The Indian Slow Cooker by Anupy Singla. Please try this one, you won’t regret it.

2 med yellow onions, peeled and sliced

2 lbs (1 kg) beef brisket, trimmed of fat cap (I used flank steak, which is cut from the same part of the cow and responds well to slow cooking, as brisket has proven difficult to find. The only problem with the flank steak is the length of the strips that tear off; next time I think I will cut the steak in half against the grain before cooking.)

1, 2 inch piece of ginger, peeled

10 cloves garlic, peeled

1 heaping tsp ground ginger

4 green cardamom pods

3 bay leaves

1, 4 inch cinnamon stick

1 Tbsp garam masala

2 Tbsp ground fennel (I had whole fennel that I roughly ground in my mortar)

1 Tbsp red chili powder (I used about 2/3 of this)

2 pinches ground nutmeg

1 tsp each, turmeric, salt, and black salt (I couldn’t find, so used a smoked salt that I have)

1/2 cup canola oil

1. Put the onions in the slow cooker and lay the beef on top.

2. Add whole spices to slow cooker. Mix ground spices in a bowl and spread evenly over top of meat.

3. In the food processor, grind the ginger and garlic into a paste. Add the canola oil through the feed tube to make a sauce. Pour over the top of the meat and cook on low for 9 hours. (I forgot to take a picture here, sorry)

4. At this point I shredded the beef with a fork and stirred, but you could try and carve it, just be prepared for it to fall apart.

Enjoy,

Ky

 

2 Responses to “Pakistani “Old Clothes” Beef Curry or Nihari”

  1. […] and butt-loads of flavour. We had it with a simplified Peas Pullao done in my rice cooker, a Pakistani beef curry (post to come) and Stove Top Naan. Hope you enjoy […]

  2. Kristi Says:

    I think I’m going to like your new favorite cookbook too! Looks great!


Leave a Reply

