blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Yam Fries with Garlic Mayo Dip February 26, 2011

Filed under: Quick and easy,Sides — blisteringlydrunk @ 8:23 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Although this is a very easy side to make, my friends always looked forward to my dinners when this was part of the menu.

Preheat oven to 400 F.

Yam fries

Fries

Any size yam will do.  Chop it into bake-able sized chunks.  Throw the chunks into a large bowl and toss with an egg white, olive oil, salt, thyme and lots of sesame seeds.  Spread onto a baking sheet and cook until soft – Dipping sauceabout 30 min. depending on the size of your chunks.

 

 

 

 

 

Dipping sauce

Mix together about 3-4 T of mayo with 1 crushed garlic and about a t of mustard seeds.

Enjoy! Ren

 

3 Responses to “Yam Fries with Garlic Mayo Dip”

  1. […] but they ended up tasteless and overcooked.  Thankfully, the sides saved the meal. We had Ren’s sweet potato fries and this radicchio and arugula salad that I found in the February Bon Appetit. James found it too […]

  2. […] This was a delicious, tender roast that I served for a dinner party – very little prep time and it was a big hit.  I got the idea from Lighthearted at Home by Anne Lindsay.  I served it with steamed asparagus, horseradish and yam fries. […]

  3. […] realize there are several delicious ways to cook sweet potatoes. Roasted, mashed, made into yam fries, sliced and baked with apples (that’s my Grandma’s famous method)…I love them […]


Leave a comment