blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Raspberry/ Blackberry Breakfast Bars February 24, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Bars,Make Ahead — blisteringlydrunk @ 5:18 pm
Tags: , , , ,

As the mother of two young children who can eat their way through almost any outing, I am constantly on the lookout for healthy, portable snacks. This would also apply to long hikes  through alligator infested swamps, or breakfast in the hotel when traveling clandestinely to meet with other secret agents like yourself. Or whatever. Sometimes you need something you can grab and eat on the run, that doesn’t taste like cardboard and is also healthy and filling. This is it. And my fairly picky 4-year-old loves these, which means they taste like dessert, because that’s the only thing she eats without complaint.

I have borrowed this from Everybody Likes Sandwiches and added my usual flair (at least 6 pieces), I hope you like it.

2 cups rolled oats

2 cups whole wheat pastry flour (or half all purpose and half whole wheat)

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

6 Tbsp butter, cubed

1 cup plain yogurt (I used 2.5%, but I think fat free would be just fine)

1 Tbsp lemon juice

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/3 cup agave syrup

3 cups frozen berries (I used raspberries and blackberries, but whatever is in your freezer should work), roughly chopping half of them

2 Tbsp raspberry jam (I used this because I had it, but I wouldn’t rush out to buy some if you don’t, maybe just add an extra Tbsp of agave syrup instead)

2 Tbsp raw sugar (I used white, but raw would be way better if you’ve got it)

1. Preheat oven to 350 and line a 9×13 glass pan with parchment paper, leaving enough hanging over the sides to lift out the finished product.

2. Mix the first 6 ingredients (to cinnamon) together in a large bowl. Add chopped butter and mix together with your hands until the mixture is crumbly. (Upon reading this, I snorted and grabbed my pastry cutter, which accomplished nothing because of all the oats. It really does work better with your hands. I had a flashback to my Mom teaching me to make meatloaf and forcing me to put my hands in there and squeeze the egg yolk until it broke and then mix it with all that raw hamburger. That was gross. This isn’t. Just pinch around in there till the butter busts up. No big deal. Thanks for making me overcome my fears Mom!)

3. Stir together yogurt, lemon juice, and vanilla (I did this right in my measuring cup) and then add to your crumbles. Mix with a sturdy spoon until it just comes together.

4. In a small bowl, mix together berries, cornstarch and agave syrup.

5. Press about 2/3 of the crumbles/pastry into the pan. You will have to really press and spread to get it to cover the bottom evenly, but it will work.

6. Spread the berry mixture over top and then dab the jam over top of that.

7. Crumble the remaining dough over top and then sprinkle with sugar. Bake for about 50 mins, or until bubbly and slightly browned. Let cool completely before cutting. Stays good for 3 or 4 days on the counter, longer in the fridge, and much longer in the freezer.

8. Make sure you have on hand a one-booted helper around to lick out all the bowls.

Enjoy,

Ky

 

 

Leave a Reply

