blisteringlydrunk

food amongst family and friends

Banana-Saskatoon Yogurt Muffins February 22, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Muffins — blisteringlydrunk @ 5:51 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I don’t bake muffins all that often, but when I  do, I’m always surprised at how quick and easy they are to throw together. This recipe is a particular favourite in my house. It’s relatively  healthy, made with very little butter and whole grain flour, and easy to adapt to your personal tastes. I have adapted this recipe from one for blueberry muffins that I found years ago on an obscure website and I cannot find the original recipe or website, try as  I might. If your recognize this recipe as your own, please let me know so I can pay you proper credit.

Enjoy!
Katie

Makes 12 regular muffins or 10-11 giant muffins

2 cups spelt flour (or 1 cup white flour & 1 cup whole wheat flour)
2 t baking powder
1/2 t salt
1/2 – 1 cup toasted walnuts, chopped (optional)
4 T unsalted butter
2/3 cup sugar
2 large eggs
2 t vanilla extract
1 cup plain yogurt
2 ripe bananas, mashed
3 handfuls frozen saskatoons (or your berry of choice)

  1. Combine dry ingredients,  excluding sugar. Stir in 3/4 of the walnuts.
  2. Beat butter until light, then add the sugar and beat a couple more minutes.
  3. Add eggs one at a time, beating a couple minutes each.
  4. Stir in vanilla, yogurt and banana.
  5. Add the dry ingredients to wet and gently stir, just to combine.
  6. Fold in saskatoons.
  7. Spoon into greased muffin tins. I like to overflow the tins and I usually get 11 muffins.
  8. Top with remaining 1/4 of walnuts and sprinkle with a little brown sugar if desired.
  9. Bake at 375F for about 25 minutes until golden brown at the edges.
 

Leave a Reply

